Awards for Postdocs and Mentors

Each year, Postdoctoral Affairs confers two awards.

The Outstanding Postdoctoral Scholar Award recognizes a University of Arizona postdoctoral scholar who demonstrates excellence in research, communication, and leadership. The Excellence in Postdoctoral Mentoring Award recognizes a faculty member who provides exceptional mentoring to postdoctoral scholars. Nominations for these awards open each fall; see our News page for updated info.


Previous awardees for the Outstanding Postdoctoral Scholar Award include Dr. Michael Sori in 2019, Dr. Rachel Neville in 2020, and Dr. Irene Shivaei in 2021.
Previous awardees for the Excellence in Postdoctoral Mentoring Award include Dr. Joceline Lega in 2019 and Dr. George E. Gehrels in 2021.